Summer Must Haves for thick, frizzy, and unruly hair

summer must haves for your hair

1.  Healthy Sexy Hair’s Soy Renewal Nourishing Styling Treatment 

soyrenewal

This soy renewal treatment is amazing!  It lasts forever, which is great considering it is about $22 a bottle.  Less is more with this product…you only need about a dime’s size of the product to apply to your hair.  I immediately put it on my hair after showering and it seems to lock in the moisture and keep my hair shiny and silky.  I simply brush my hair once out of the shower and then apply the treatment by scrunching it all into my hair from the roots to the tips.

It smells wonderful and doesn’t leave a greasy residue on your hair.   It is made with Moroccan Argan Oil which is known for it’s moisturizing powers!  It also contains Sunflower Oil which is a lightweight oil that adds softness, smoothness and shine. It really helps control my frizzies and helps smoothes my hair, adds shine, and reduces the drying time…which are all important to me.

2.  Organix’s Smoothing Shea Butter Liquid Glass Serum

organixsheabutterliquidglassserum

A unique blend of shea butter, whipped yogurt proteins, avocado oils, and vitamins make this serum perfect for controlling frizz and smoothing your hair just as much as the soy renewal treatment above.  I use this serum every day and you can apply it to wet or dry hair.   Just like the soy renewal treatment you just need to apply a very small amount to your hair.

It also has a wonderful smell and actually gets mistaken quite often as a perfume!  People love the hints of coconut and vanilla.  It’s pretty cost effective as well…only about $7 per bottle at most retail or drug stores.

3.  Redken’s Control Addict 28 High Control Hairspray

controladdict28hairspray

This is def a must have if you want your hair to stay put.   It literally keeps your hair perfectly still for a full day…no need to brush and apply more.  One time use and you are set for the day.  I’ve tested it out in windy, rainy conditions and it does not disappoint.  No nasty residue build-up is left on your hair either and it does not have an overpowering smell like most high-control hairsprays.

4.  Redken’s Shine Brilliance Outshine 01 Anti-Frizz Polishing Milk

redkin outshine 01

Yes, but another anti-frizz polishing product.  When you have frizz problems and thick hair, you must invest in some great frizz products or else you might end up looking like a fuzz ball.  I have some experience with looking like a fuzz ball…trust me.  This polishing milk is a light cream styler that also contains shea butter to help with shine and smoothness.  You can apply this cream to wet or dry hair as well.  I keep this one in my purse so I can tame down frizzy fly-aways when I’m out and about.

5.  Redken’s Curvaceous Wind Up Reactivating Spray for Loose Waves and Spiral Curls

redken curvacious wind up

This is by far my favorite Redken product!  I already have naturally curly hair, but this product makes my curly waves turn into more of a tight spiral curl.  I use this more often in the summer because I can just wash my hair, apply and scrunch this reactivating spray into my hair and I’m set to go.  I was absolutely amazed at how well it works.

6.  Dove’s New Advanced Hair Series Oxygen Moisture Shampoo & Conditioner

dove oxygen moisture shampoo and conditioner

I received samples of this product and at first I was not convinced that I should use it mainly because it says it’s for fine and flat hair…which my hair is not.  I have very thick hair that has quite a bit of volume to it already.  I decided to give it a try because I love Dove’s hair products.

The Oxygen Moisture shampoo and conditioner are made with Oxyfusion Technology, a new generation of moisture.  Dove states that it is supposed to give more bounce and volume to fine, limp hair.   Once I applied the shampoo you could immediately feel it working.  It felt like I was in a spa getting a hair treatment.  My scalp felt refreshed and clean.  I loved the smell and feel of my hair after shampooing and conditioning my hair.  This product did give my hair more volume but it was not overpowering thank goodness-I feared that since I have thick hair it would make it unmanageable.

What are some of your must haves for hair products?  

zsignatureforblog

4 thoughts on “Summer Must Haves for thick, frizzy, and unruly hair

  1. Have you tried a sulfate free shampoo before? My sister told me about them two years ago and my hair has been amazing ever since! It takes out all the frizz and makes my hair so manageable! I love it! I need to look into some of these products! Thanks for the suggestions! :)

    • I’ve heard about the sulfate free shampoo but never tried them! I must find one to test out! Thanks for your suggestion as well. I seem to have more problems with frizz when it’s hot and humid outside-I guess we all do! =) If you try any of these products out let me know how you liked them!

    • I absolutely LOVE it. It really does bring out the shine in my hair and the smell is wonderful! Let me know how you like it if you get around to testing it out!

Leave a Reply

